K-pop Rookie Groups from 2020

K-pop Rookie Groups from 2020 - The Daebak Company

The year 2020 has been a great year for K-Pop. Many groups were able to debut in the K-Pop industry despite the current global pandemic. It is difficult for a K-Pop group to win the fans' hearts and gain public attention. However, groups like Weeekly, STAYC, AESPA, Treasure, ENHYPEN, and Cravity are changing the industry.

We have compiled top 6 K-pop rookie groups from 2020 to check out before the year is over!



Let's get started with Weeekly! The South Korean girl group under PlayM Entertainment debuted on June 30, 2020. Weeekly is Play M Entertainment's second girl group in 10 years, after Apink. The group consists of seven girls Soojin, Jiyoon, Monday, Soeun, Jaehee, Jihan, and Zoa. Weeekly debut song "Tag Me (@Me)" was the perfect upbeat summer song! The members really showcased their skills and proved that they are one of the super K-Pop rookies of 2020.



Cravity officially debuted on April 14, 2020, under Starship Entertainment. The group consists of nine members: Serim, Allen, Jungmo, Woobin, Wonjin, Minhee, Hyeongjun, Taeyong, and Seongmin. A few of the members, including Jungmo, Wonjin, Minhee, and Hyeongjun, participated in the show Produce X 101 in 2019 to showcase their talents and gain public attention. With their album release, "Season 1. Hideout: Remember Who We Are" did extremely well in the charts. Cravity debut single "Break All The Rules" is a retro track mix with hip hop elements. The beat is very addicting once you listen to it for the first time!



Are you familiar with Black Eyed Pilseung? Well, they are the mastermind behind the new South Korean girl group STAYC. The producer duo is well known for producing K-Pop's biggest hits, such as Sistar's "Touch My Body," Twice's "Like Ooh-Ahh," "Cheer Up," "TT," "Likey," and "Fancy," etc. STAYC debuted on November 12, 2020, under High Up Entertainment with their debut single album, "Star To a Young Culture." Their debut song "So Bad," produced by Black Eyed Pilsesung, is about being confident and true about your first love.



You may be familiar with the Mnet survival competition series, I-Land, where Belift Lab trainees could participate. The final line-up of ENHYPEN was Heeseung, Jay, Jake, Sunghoon, Sunoo, Jungwon, and Ni-ki. The group debuted on November 30, 2020, with their debut EP "Border: Day One." ENHYPEN is the definition of rising stars in K-POP. Their debut album sold over 300,000, which makes the highest-selling K-pop group that debuted in 2020!



SM Entertainment's new girl group, aespa, finally made their debut on November 17, 2020! It's been six years since SM Entertainment introduced a new girl group. The group consists of Karina, Giselle, Winter, and Ningning. What makes aespa unique is their virtual concept! The meaning of their name comes from combining 'ae' which means 'Avatar X Experience' & Aspect." Their debut song "Black Mamba" is a combination of electropop and dance-pop. The beat of the song is quite addicting and will get you hooked!



Finally, Treasure from YG Entertainment made their official debut on August 7, 2020, with their debut song "Boy." The group was formed through the reality-survival program YG Treasure Box. The boy group consists of twelve members: Choi Hyun Suk, Jihoon, Yoshi, Junkyu, Mashito, Yoon Jae Hyuk, Asahi, Bang Ye Dam, Doyoung, Haruto, Park Jeong Woo, and So Jung Hwan. Originally, the group was supposed to debut last year but was postponed. However, Treasure was able to release amazing songs for their fans!

Who was your favorite K-pop rookie group? Let us know down in the comments!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

We Bring Korea to you!

Happiness delivered from Korea to your doorstep! Experience the best of Korean culture with Daebak Box!